The Maldives is a sovereign state with the division of power between legislative, executive and judicial authorities. The judiciary is the third organ of the State in the Maldives. Article 141 (a) states that the judicial authority of the Republic of Maldives is vested in the Supreme Court, the High Court and Trail Courts as established by law. The Courts are independent and subject only to the Constitution and the law. No person or organ of state (government department or institution performing in terms of constitution or exercising public power) may interfere with the functioning of the courts. Any order or decision issued by a court, is binding on all persons and all organs of State to which it applies. Judicial power is vested in the courts through the Article 140 of the Constitution.
The Maldives Judicial system has 3 tiers of Courts, the Supreme Court, the High Court and subordinate courts